Goshavanq

Goshavank was built in the place of an older monastery once known as Nor Getik, which had been destroyed by an earthquake in 1188. Mkhitar Gosh, a statesman, scientist and an author of numerous fables and parables as well as the first criminal code, took part in the reconstruction of the monastery. At Goshavank, Mkhitar Gosh founded a school. One of his disciples, an Armenian scientist named Kirakos Gandzaketsi wrote The History of Armenia. The architect Mkhitar the Carpenter and his disciple Hovhannes also took an active part in the building of the monastery. The building was later renamed Goshavank and the village was named Gosh in his honour. Goshavank does not have outer walls and is surrounded by village houses. All of the buildings are attached to each other except for St. Hripsime Chapel, which is located on the opposite hillside. In the twelfth to thirteenth centuries the monastery was inhabited. The churches are decorated according to the traditions of the time. As a rule, the door portals and windows are framed in rectangular or arched platbands some of which are profiled. The facade niches have multifoil or scalloped tops like the niches of the main church at Geghard. The unusual and artistically framed sundial on the southern side is an eye-catching decorative element.

Location

  • Tavush, Armenia
subscribe now
Get Latest offers